Anger: Your ally or enemy?

Some feel anger is good when you are fighting. They feel it gives a fighter, an added advantage over your opponent as it may intimidate him. What I feel is, it may work at a junior level. Being angry against an advanced fighter is something that should be totally avoided. Why? Because, intimidating an advanced practitioner will not be that easy and being angry can turn out to be a liability for you. 

Let us note down some points on how it can be a liability.

  • It clouds over our judgement.
  • Makes us under-estimate the opponent.
  • You can get hurt as you do not think before you attack when influenced by rage
  • Angry mind lets the opponent take advantage of you.

So, is rage really good for a fight? Not just fight, but any situation in life, is anger really the answer?

To answer the above questions, it is best to quote Michael Jai White, where he explains about anger in the movie “Never Back Down 2“.

Or, better yet, from the movie Enter the Dragon.

So, when you can calm down our hyper active mind, we are able to see clearly and thus, we are not just able to hurt our opponent, we can avoid being hurt as well. Being calm when you are fighting is a challenge alright. But when your judgement is not clouded by anger, you are truly able to fight. When you are angry, you let your opponent to hurt you easily without you even realizing it.

What can be better than to remember a quote by Bruce Lee to conclude this post, right?

A quick temper will make a fool of you soon enough.
                                                                                         – Bruce Lee
About Karthik S Vailaya

Martial Arts enthusiast, Karate Black Belt 3rd Dan, Earnest Reader, Out of the Box Thinker. View all posts by Karthik S Vailaya

4 responses to “Anger: Your ally or enemy?

  • myshotokan

    Anger has its place, but I agree it’s not on the sparring floor.

    I’d be interested in reading more about where you place your mind and how you soothe your emotions during freestyle sparring, and how that changes between dojo sparring and tournament sparring.

    If I were to look at your face while you sparred, how expressive would it be, and what kinds of expressions would I see?

    Osu from Winnipeg, thanks for visiting my blog, too!

    Jill
    my training blog

    • Karthik S Vailaya

      For me, anger was never present when I am training in the dojo or participating in any tournament. I have no idea why it is so. But, it has always been so.
      You just asked an interesting question about how expressive I am while I am engaged in free sparring. That question remains unanswered as yet and gives me an opportunity to think about getting my fight captured in a camera and then watch closely. Hopefully I will get a video uploaded soon and I would like you to help me out in this matter by telling me how expressive I am.
      Thanks a lot for your valuable comment.
      Osu

You must be logged in to post a comment.

